top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Kimball's

There is something worse than Coronavirus....

When I started this blog a few weeks ago I had no idea my next post would be about a crazy virus spreading throughout the world. People might read the title of this blog and think how could there be anything worse than this? People are sick and dying. I understand the devastation it is causing. But over the last two weeks I have thought about it a lot and I really do believe there is something worse.


In Matthew 7:21-27 Jesus says something quite astounding: many people will call him Lord but he doesn't know them and calls them workers of iniquity. People are consumed with fear, anxiety and panic at COVID19, but the thought of Jesus saying "Depart from me. I never knew you." is what people should think about. Our time here on this earth is so temporary and fragile, it is also short and goes by in the blink of an eye. Eternity is forever. So the thought of Jesus saying depart from me, I never knew you and to think that's for eternity should really be consuming the world.


These people say Lord, Lord. They repeat it. Are they trying to sound convincing or impressive? But Jesus is neither impressed nor convinced. He says, "I never knew you." How does this shocking situation come about? How can there be many people calling Jesus Lord, whilst he denies association with them? We don't even have to guess the answer. Jesus gives us the answer. And he does it so simply we could easily miss it.


The answer is in the question. Jesus asks "Why do you call me Lord, Lord and don't do what I say?" Luke 6:46. So there's the answer. Many people call Jesus Lord and He rejects them because they don't listen to him and they don't do what He says. Undeniably, if you call Jesus "Lord" you better do what He says, otherwise there is a huge question mark over the word "Lord" on your lips.


The words "Lord, Lord" are only the beginning of what these many people say. They go on to say "Didn't we prophesy in your name, cast out demons in your name, and work many miracles in your name?" Matthew 7:22. But Jesus calls these people "you who practice lawlessness." (Matthew 7:23) Referring to the same people, Jesus earlier said, "Beware of the false prophets who come to you in sheep's clothing but within are hungry wolves. You will know them by their fruits." "False prophets will arise and show great signs and wonders so as to mislead. If possible, even the chosen ones."


These signs and wonders are rejected by Jesus as evil works, even though they are claimed to be done in His name. That's a sobering thought. If we don't do what Jesus tells us to do then theres no getting around it. It doesn't matter how great it looks.


Jesus says: "Everyone who hears these words of mine, and acts upon them, will be like a wise man who built his house upon a rock." By contrast, the one who hears the words of Jesus but does not act upon them, is foolish. It's easy to read the words, but to act upon them is a whole other story.


It's a sobering thought, when you read these words with open eyes. I never knew you. Jesus doesn't deny their existence, He is denying a relationship with them. No matter what you have done, you have the opportunity to believe in Jesus and be forgiven. Acknowledge that you are a sinner in need of a Savior. Live your life for Him.


People are consumed by what is going on in the world right now. In 2 Chronicles 7:13-15 it says ' Whenever I hold back the rain or send locusts to eat up the crops or send an epidemic on my people, if they pray to me and repent and turn away from the evil they have been doing, then I will hear them in heaven, forgive their sins, and make their land prosperous again. I will watch over this temple and be ready to hear all the prayers that are offered here."


Please don't think I am not saddened by this virus. My heart breaks for the people suffering and losing loved ones. But my heart breaks even more at the thought of people hearing these words. I hope if anything good comes out of this pandemic it is that it is a wake up call to the world.


Ash



221 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page